2015_Pic_Raghu_PuchaRaghu Pucha obtained his PhD in 1995 from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. He held post-doctoral research positions at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore and Purdue University, West Lafayette before coming to Georgia Tech in 2000. His research focuses on  developing upfront computational tools for the design, analysis and manufacturing of advanced materials and systems for various applications. His current research includes developing Integrated Analytical, CAD/CAE Tools (IntACT)) for design, analysis and manufacturing of random heterogeneous materials for structural, electronics and bio applications. His research contributions in composite materials include (i) Special purpose finite elements for design and delamination failure analysis of fiber reinforced laminated composites (ii) Microstructure simulations for impact damage analysis of composites  (iii) Design, analysis and optimization tools for advanced composites in electronics applications (iv) Seamlessly integrated CAD/CAE tools for nanofiller composites.

Dr. Pucha teaches computer graphics, CAD/CAE and design courses. He is honored with Geoffrey G. Eichholz Faculty Teaching Award in 2015 and Undergraduate Educator Award in 2012 from the Center for Enhancement of Teaching and Learning (CETL), Georgia Tech.


Current Undergraduate Research Students
Wonsup Song, Vikram Krishnaswamy, Miles Chan, Robert Ashcom, Rebecca Withers, Walter Scott, Kwon Sang Lee, Yash Gore


Past Students

Name Term(s) Current Institution Name Term(s) Current Institution
Dhruv Mehta Summer 2013   John Hooie Summer 2013  
Hannah Littman Summer 2013   Joshua Price Summer 2013  
Shadi Renno Fall 2013   Kristin Hansen Fall 2013  
Johnny Worthy Summer 2011 – Spring 2013   Ravi Haskar Spring 2013  
Davis Hoffman Spring 2013   Joshua Price Fall 2012  
Prakar Srivatsav Fall 2012   Bob Palmer Fall 2011 and Spring 2012  
Nicole Wisner Spring 2012   Tapan Asgoankar Spring 2012  
Panos Markou Spring 2012   Kylie Alea Spring 2012  
Parth Jariwala NASA Summer Fellowship – Summer 2011   Akhil Modi Summer 2011  
Alexis Noel Spring 2011   Siddarth Gangopadhyay Spring 2011  
Akshay Saxena Spring 2011   Ajeya Karajgikar Spring 2010  
Kavneet Sethi Spring 2010   Summer 2009 Fall 2007  
Sahil Batta Fall 2009   Adnan Hannan Summer 2009  
Yasaman Nemat-bakhsh Spring 2009   John Semmens Spring 2009  
Rob Parrish Fall 2008